Winners 2020

BMJ Awards winners 2020

Judging has taken place for our two special recognition awards earlier this year and we are pleased to announce the winners of the Outstanding Contribution to Health and the Research Paper of the Year.

Outstanding Contribution to Health Award

David Pencheon, Founding Director of the Sustainable Development Unit (SDU), for NHS England and Public Health England

This award goes to David Pencheon for his involvement in setting up the Sustainable Development Unit in 2007 and his early insight into the priority of sustainability.

Read our article about the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Health award. 

Research Paper of the Year

Marian Knight, Professor of Maternal and Child Population Health at the National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit

The winning paper focused on the notable impacts and findings from a study of antibiotics and maternal infections after childbirth.

Read our article about the winner of the Research Paper of the Year award.

The judging of shortlisted teams and the selection of winners in each category will now go ahead but will be delivered in a new format due to Covid-19. Winners will be announced on Wednesday 7 October. Find out more about our Award updates here.


Our Sponsors

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!