Winners 2020.

2020 BMJ Awards winners

On Wednesday 7 October we recognised the extraordinary and innovative work of healthcare professionals across the country as the 16 winners of the 2020 BMJ Awards were announced. Congratulations to all our winners and finalists.

The pandemic saw incredible pressures put on all healthcare teams, so we were delighted to be able to deliver the 2020 Awards virtually, have the opportunity to celebrate with all our finalist teams. If you missed the 2020 Awards, you can watch all the winner announcements below. 

Outstanding Contribution to Health Award

David Pencheon

Anaesthesia & Perioperative Medicine 

Improving Tracheostomy Care

Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Cancer Care


SCAN Pathway

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Oxfordshire CCG

Clinical Leadership

Hepatitis C Elimination Wales

Public Health Wales and all Health Boards in Wales


Teledermatology Cancer Clinic

Chelsea and Westminster Hospital Foundation NHS Trust


Digital Home Albumin Screening and Modality Partnership

Digital Innovation

Animation Supported Consent

Explain my Procedure and Barts Health NHS Trust

Environmental Sustainability and Climate Action

Saving lives with solar

University Hospital of North Midlands

Innovation in Quality Improvement

Gestational Diabetes Pathway

Western Health and Social Care Trust

Mental Health

Local Radio and Mental Wellbeing

Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Primary Care

The Healthy Hyde Team

Hyde Neighbourhood


The Respiratory Infection Team

University Hospitals of Derby and Burton Foundation Trust

Stroke and Cardiovascular


The REACH HF Collaboration

Women’s Health

The GooD Pregnancy Network

Basildon and Thurrock Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Workforce and Wellbeing 

Joint Fatigue Working Group

Association of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Anaesthetists, Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine

UK Research Paper


Professor Marian Knight

View the 2020 BMJ Awards ceremony

Our Sponsors

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!