The judging process and our judges

Step 1

Shortlist entries

The BMJ Awards is extremely proud of its high standards, which it maintains through a robust judging process. Once the submission of entries closes, our internal champions (mostly doctors and senior editors within BMJ) and an expert judge shortlist all submitted entries. Each category will have 5-6 shortlisted teams. The shortlist will be announced in February 2018.

Step 2

Judging day for shortlisted entries

All shortlisted teams are invited to present in front of a panel comprising an internal champion (OR a BMJ champion) and three expert judges, one of whom is a patient representative. Based on the information provided in the entry forms of every shortlisted team plus the live presentation by the team and the answers given to questions from the panel, the judges make a final decision on the winners. The judging day will take place on Thursday, 10 May.

Step 3

Announcing the winners

The judging event will begin at 09:00 with open to all judging sessions where you will present your work and have the opportunity to hear entries from a range of fellow award nominees. Judging will be followed by lunch and an afternoon of networking and presentations, including case studies from previous winners and industry leaders. Later that day, Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Wednesday 24 April 2019, at The Park Plaza Westminster Hotel in London.

Our judges will be announced soon!

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!